Beware of the Dark Side

As I am currently pursuing a Master’s in Computer and Information Technology and have a background in Criminal Justice I inherently look at the dark side of social media, computer usage, cyber security, etc. My mind instantly wanders to Facebook post used for tracking criminals and check-ins on foursquare linked to finding missing persons. I would say I have ‘pessimistic’ outlook on the Internet. However I do LOVE to keep in touch with family over Facebook, instagram my latest pumpkin spice latte and check in at my favorite restaurant. I guess I have a love / hate relationship with the Internet / social media. All of the positives are too often used the wrong way. With that being said, I am going to make this a two series blog – with the second half at the end of the semester. I will let you all know if my ‘pessimistic’ mind-set changes!

2 thoughts on “Beware of the Dark Side

Leave a Reply

